Exercising with Fibro

I know what you are thinking, ” Exercising with Fibromyalgia? Are you nuts? I hurt all over. How on earth am I supposed to exercise?!” I know that is exactly how I have been feeling for the past 8 years of my life. Then one day I woke up and said, “Fibro will not win. I might have a chronic condition, but it does not have me!” That was step number one, making the mental choice to change my life for the positive.

Step number two is a little harder. It came when I physically tried doing something. My body does not respond the way it did before fibromyalgia was apart of my life. Some days I hurt too much to even get out of bed. And other days I feel good enough to go to work and out with friends in the evening. Therefore, the challenge is how to add exercise into my daily routine on my good days and my bad.

Now at this point, I’m sure you are asking why exercise at all, especially on the days where my pain is the worst. Here is why:

Exercise will:

* Help alleviate your pain naturally

* Increase your flexibility

* Strengthen your muscles and joints

* Strengthen your immune system

* Help you sleep better

* Help your circulatory system

* Decrease risk of high blood pressure, high cholesterol, diabetes, heart attack and stroke

* Help you lose weight; which reduces stress on your joints

For more information on why exercise is important, please see this research study done by Dr.Rooks, published in Archives of Internal Medicine.

About Amy Higgins
Social mediaholic. Incurable content creator. Hardcore bacon nerd. Opera aficionado. Presently @TopRank Marketing Formerly @Zendesk @Concur @GoogleLocalSF

7 Responses to Exercising with Fibro

  1. Search says:

    My relatives all the time say that I am killing my time here at web, except I know I am
    getting experience daily by reading thes fastidious posts.

  2. The biggest problem I have had re: exercising, is that if I do it when my pain levels are too high, my pain gets even worse for up to 36 hours following.

    If I wait until they’re relatively low, even if that’s a very rare thing, and then exercise – over time, it helps. The low-pain times get more frequent, I exercise more, and build a positive cycle.

    Or try to, anyway. You’re never going to “get there”, it will always be a journey.

    • flourishwithfibro says:

      I try just to stretch when my pain levels are high. i know what you mean about it always going to be a journey. It’s a slow journey and it moves a a different pace than most. Take it at your own pace, just keep moving forward.
      -Stay positive and healthy!-Amy

  3. ditsyhaze says:

    I like the idea of not letting the clock guide you, and also
    ” I might have a chronic condition, but it does not have me!” that really struck a chord with me. It is an aspect I struggle with. When you feel awful Its so hard to find the motivation to fight.

  4. Important point related to the fact you mention with exercising increasing circulation: new studies of scans of the brain show less blood flow in brains with FM, so exercising might be best done in a few little sessions a day instead of one. Exercise also stimulates the hormone systems of the brain and so doing activity throughout the day rather than once is good for that reason as well.

    When I had patients with FM, I would start them on ‘up to’ 2 minutes on a machine and then we’d learn deep breathing exercises and then they’d do ‘up to’ 2 more machines. And the key is always ‘monitor and let fatigue be your guide’, not the clock and certainly not what you did yesterday. With the goal being ‘able to do more overall in the long run’.

    Really good information you have! Hope my additions from experience help!

    • flourishwithfibro says:

      Mardy- I really love your point about exercising in little spurts throughout the day! With fibro, little changes you make in your life make the biggest difference! I even find that doing my morning stretches in the hot shower helps me out a ton! It’s always a great way to start the day off relaxed and ready for whatever comes your way.

Leave a Reply

