Men and fibro

I love my father for more reasons than I can count. He is by far the greatest man I have ever known. My father has stood by me through all of my endeavors. During all the ups and downs with fibro, my Dad is there to hold my hand, wipe my tears, and make me laugh. But, I do wonder how my health condition effects him?

mhnThe Men’s Health Network is conducting a survey to gauge just that. They have teamed together with the American Pain Foundation and National Fibromyalgia Association to conduct this survey nationwide. Fibromyalgia is typically labeled a “women’s” disease. However, it does not discriminate, and men are affected by it too. Only about 10-20% of all fibro patients are male. Men are raised to be strong and not show pain. Overall, males tend to be less vocal about their health condition. The associations conducting this survey believe the numbers of recorded male patients affected with fibro is not accurate.

If you want to learn more about the survey, please click on the following link:
www.menshealthnetwork.org/fmsurvey.php.

News articles about this:
Medical News Service (posted 8/19)

PR News Wire (posted 8/18)

About Amy Higgins
Social mediaholic. Incurable content creator. Hardcore bacon nerd. Opera aficionado. Presently @TopRank Marketing Formerly @Zendesk @Concur @GoogleLocalSF

2 Responses to Men and fibro

  1. Men's Health Network says:

    Thanks for writing about the survey. Anything we can do to find out more about this condition and help others is important.

    • flourishwithfibro says:

      I was really excited to find out that you were doing this survey. The symptoms of Fibromyalgia are so complex and different for everyone. It would be interesting to know if they any of the symptoms are gender related. One male fibro friend I knew about five years ago said that one of his doctors labeled him with suffering from “Gulf War Syndrome”, where as another doctor diagnosed him with Fibromyalgia.
      Please let me know if there is anything I can do to help your research. And, please keep us posted of your findings.
      Thanks! Amy

Leave a Reply

