Which came first the chicken or the egg?

Which came first?The age-old question of which came first the chicken or the egg baffles scientists and comedians alike, and especially chronic pain patients.

Similar to the auras that precede migraine headaches, the onset of many of my pain attacks begin with simple yet effective signs telling me to, “Batten down the hatches girl, a storm’s a brew’n”. Usually a few days before a major pain attack, my IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) acts up, my appetite decreases, and my sleep becomes restless. And, just to make life interesting, my warning signs have gone from a simple physical symptoms to a complex list of disorganized and unpredictable physical, neurological, and emotional reactions.

Part of the course with Fibromyalgia is memory lapse and a other neurological aliments called Fibro Fog. For example, my favorite is always the game of “Where did I leave my keys? – Just to find them in the fridge!” Fibro fog has always been manageable for me, until lately when it has begun to impair my ability to fully do my job. Imagine always having that one word on the tip of your tongue, that one idea just outside of your reach, that one memory remotely within your view- that is what my life feels like before a pain attack with Fibro Fog. Add in my usual IBS, sleep and appetite issues, and my life is just peachy.

This change in my body’s behavior led me to schedule an appointment with my pain doctor. Here’s the kicker- we do not know exactly what is causing the neurological issues. It could be the stressors in my life, my FM condition itself, or my medication. Hence, what came first the chicken of the egg?

The medication that helps my neuropathic pain has a side effect that could be causing my neurological symptoms. To make matters worse, without this medication I could not function as a normal member of society because of my nerve pain. On a day without a pain attack looming, my medication is at the appropriate level. However, combine the medication levels with the chemical reactions my body goes through before an attack, and WHOA MAMA let the Fibro Fog games begin.

So now, what do I do? My doctor and I decided to play the waiting game while I document my reactions over the next month. If we change my meds, I could end up in more pain, end up with a different type of pain, or better yet, end up with a whole other set of side effects: either physical, emotional, or neurological. Sometimes not knowing if the issue is a symptom or a reaction is the hardest puzzle to solve. Hopefully, by going back to the basics of keeping a pain journal will resolve all of our questions. I guess until then I will have a bunch of frozen keys.

Other sites to read on Fibro Fog:

www.fmaware.org
www.health.com
www.fibrohaven.com

About Amy Higgins
Social mediaholic. Incurable content creator. Hardcore bacon nerd. Opera aficionado. Presently @TopRank Marketing Formerly @Zendesk @Concur @GoogleLocalSF

3 Responses to Which came first the chicken or the egg?

  1. Yvonne says:

    I feel your pain, literally. I was in my late 20’s when symptoms first appeared, and went from doctor to doctor trying to discover what was wrong with me. I heard a lot of, “all mothers have aches and pains” which I knew was bs because I had been a nanny and I didn’t have pain then!
    Fast forward 20+ years, I am 49 and just had a spinal fusion so I am dealing with pain from both and I have to tell you, I WISH I could take the nerve meds! They cause such severe side effects, that I prefer to buck up and deal.
    Cymbalta was like a miracle drug, until I lost over half of my very long hair. Hmmm, hair or pain? The depression from the hair loss was worse than the pain so I chose vanity.
    It just seems like there is no panacea for us, and we are all so different, I know my doctors just toss up their hands. I am now told by my PC doctor that being on pain meds, makes you more sensitive to pain! Uh, being in chronic pain causes brain damage… I challenged him to a medical publication war. I got my pain meds.
    The only thing I can say that may be of any use is to lower your expectations. Not a super helpful thing to say, I know, BUT I used to think I could “cure” it or be pain free, now that I no longer expect to be cured or be pain free, life is easier.
    I also bought a treadmill and force myself to walk, even when the sciatica pain is so bad that I am in tears. After about 1/2 a mile at 3 mph, the endorphins kick in, and I feel better.
    And to close, my 20 year old daughter put the cheese in the pantry the other day! It made me feel a little less ridiculous about trying to put a pillow in the freezer.

    Be well,
    y

  2. hayley says:

    I am in exactly the same predicament. Its pretty overwhelming figuring out what to do about it all, nothing is ever straightforward. I too have had frozen keys, pens and such like!
    best wishes with your progress, thank you for writing this, i will share it with others to try to help non fibro’s to understand.
    hayley x

    • flourishwithfibro says:

      Thanks Hayley- It’s never a simple answer is it? With so many variables to try and figure out our health issues, we might just need an advanced trig equation to solve the simple questions of FM. That or at least a location app for my iPhone with anti-freeze cover.

Leave a Reply

