Your journey

I forget that I have fibromyalgia. It is such a part of my daily life that it has become a part of me. But then, I meet people that remind me that times used to be different.

When I first became really sick, my illness was me. It consumed me. My fibro owned my life, and unfortunately it also owned the lives of the people who were closest to me. I could never gain a hold of my health or my life. Some of my friends left me as times got tough, and others just slowly vanished.

I digress; this is not a tale of woe, but one of triumph and success. In the last few months, I have watched one of my dearest friends face the same battle that I dealt with almost a decade ago.

We all know the story. You go to doctor appointment after doctor appointment, procedure after procedure, and surgery after surgery, just to have at least 1% of your pain relieved. You’ve even tried every single homeopathic “cure” out there. But, nothing worked. Nada. Zilch. Zero. Until one day, you discovered what works for your body. It’s like the angels parted the clouds, and you have a life again!

Now, I want you to take moment to stop and really think about the past.

What did you lose?

What did you gain?

Getting your health back is more than just that. You will see the world now in a different light. The wisdom and strength you have gained can never be taken away from you. As people around you rush forward with their lives, you appreciate yours even more. The life you live, the journey you have taken, and the path that you are now on is up to you– only you.

I’m proud of you Medea for never giving up the fight.

About Amy Higgins
Social mediaholic. Incurable content creator. Hardcore bacon nerd. Opera aficionado. Presently @TopRank Marketing Formerly @Zendesk @Concur @GoogleLocalSF

Leave a Reply

