Exercise- The Final Frontier

My fibro is definitely better than it was 10 years ago. However, it’s at a standstill as far as improving. My wonderful doctor said that I need to exercise more- oh boy, just what I wanted to hear. Apparently, the best exercise for fibro is cardio. And here I thought simple stretching like yoga was key.

So, for the past month, I have been trying out cardio to help my fibro. I’ve been speed walking about 2-3 miles every other day. Depending on how I feel, it usually takes me 1/2 an hour to a full hour.

But, just like any treatment routine it has it’s ups and downs.

Downs:

  • Hard to keep routine. Every few days I get a pain attack at night– usually after 3rd day of exercise.
  • Waking up and getting my ass going in the am.

Ups:

  • I’ve lost weight.
  • I have more energy most days.

All the ups and downs aside, I’m continuing to try this exercise routine out for at least 3 months. I have found that 3 months is key to figuring out if a new treatment program will work or not for my fibro.

What about you? What exercise routine works for your fibro? Please let me know in the comments below.

About Amy Higgins
Social mediaholic. Incurable content creator. Hardcore bacon nerd. Opera aficionado. Presently @TopRank Marketing Formerly @Zendesk @Concur @GoogleLocalSF

5 Responses to Exercise- The Final Frontier

  1. ClinicalGPS says:

    Research has shown that exercise is beneficial for fibro patients, but I could never fault those who are hesitant to work out regularly. I also have to agree with Steve on role of effective dietary habits. The more you read about fibromyalgia, the more you realize that the symptoms can be more effectively managed when dietary measures are taken. This particular breakfast recipe certainly seems very tasty, and I am sure it would make a great addition to any fibromyalgia diet.

  2. AvailFlorida says:

    I just wanted to say thank you for sharing this post, and a thank you to Steve for sharing that really great link to the Living Food Diet. It seems like that sort of diet could benefit people with a number of conditions, or maybe someone who has issues with their own metabolism. There are a lot of people out there who could benefit from improved gut function.

  3. Hey Amy, sorry this reply took so long. I actually haven’t tried the living food diet myself, I have only done some research and written on it. It really does interest me, because it can apparently really help with digestion and metabolism too. My metabolism could use a real boost to be honest.

  4. Hey I thought this was a really great post! I think that a lot of people with fibro don’t realize just how beneficial regular exercise can be. Also, i have read that making some changes in your diet can have a big impact on your fibromyalgia symptoms as well. Have you ever heard of the Living Food Diet?

    • Amy Higgins says:

      Thanks Steve. I agree, a lot of people just don’t realize until they try to exercise. It’s hard to get moving when your body says NO.
      I’ve heard of the living food diet, but I’ve never tried it. What are the benefits you have from it?

Leave a Reply

